Life in the Thrash Lane

          

Call me a Foolish Frankie, but I did not get the name of this guy or the band. For now, he is the ghostly guitarist.

Hello, dumplings. Today, Chef Femison will share a very special meal for you. Add one broken nose; mix in a teaspoon of musky man b.o; stir in a dash of crowd surfing; and add a pinch of off-key sing-alongs. Place in the oven for five minutes. Remove contents from oven and let cool for two minutes. Serve and enjoy. That wasn’t so hard now was it? Feel proud of yourself; you’ve just borrowed the same ingredients that Sink This Ship, an East Bay band, used to concoct one bad ass show.        

  
Travis Bartosik of Sink This Ship

I’ve attended several shows at the Red House in Walnut Creek, and I’ve seen people of all ages flip shit for local bands like they’re in the middle of Jamiroquai’s farewell concert. Don’t hate. Jamiroquai is the best band ever :). Personally, I’ve attended some of the best live concerts for five bucks. A band’s uncontained energy, immense passion for music, and genuine appreciation of their fans makes some local shows memorable. Now, I’ve read a shit ton of Curious George in my time so I wanted to get an understanding of someone else’s perspective of local music.      

Kids throwing down.A friendly dose of sing-along action.

  

 Luckily, I ran into a few gentlemen (and woman) inside the venue and got a few words with them, regarding the local music scene. Be nice and say hello to my new friends if you ever run into them. Trust me; they’ll welcome you with open arms. I think. =)       

    Name: Miles Anvari
Age: 16
Location: Danville, California
How long have you attended local shows?
1 year.
What band did you come to see and why?
I came to see Sink This Ship. I’ve seen them before and they’re pretty good. I think they’re more talented any of the other local bands because they are more composed than other bands. It seems like they got their shit together.
What interests you most about going to local shows?
I like the underground aspect of local shows. It’s not overproduced.
In your opinion, are local shows better than mainstream shows? Why or why not?
I don’t like big shows because they’re not as intimate as a local show. Local shows are more intimate because it feels like they are playing for their friends.
What is the craziest thing you’ve seen happen at a show?
One hardcore kid was hardcore dancing and my buddy goes up and decks him. The hardcore kid flies off his feet and hits the floor. It was funny.             

Quincy "Beme" Mosby (On the right)

    

Name: Quincy “Beme” Mosby
Age: 24
Location: Oakland, California
How long have you attended local shows?
I started attending shows about a year ago when I started doing open mics.
What band did you come to see and why?
My friend wanted to see Sink This Ship. She wouldn’t let me stay home and download instrumentals to rap on.
What interests you most about going to local shows?
I get inspired watching other people do their thing. It’s very inspiring for my music.
In your opinion, are local shows better than mainstream shows? Why or why not?
Big shows suck. [At local shows] everyone is standing on everyone’s feet, and people are sweating all over each other. I love it.    

You can call him a Yoda of sorts.

Name: Brandon White
Age: 19
Location: Walnut Creek, California
How long have you attended local shows?
6 years.
What band did you come to see and why?
I came to see Sink This Ship because it is my best friend’s (Travis) band.
What interests you most about going to local shows?
The music and the people. It’s where I go to see all of my friends
In your opinion, are local shows better than mainstream shows? Why or why not?
Local shows are better because I know more that attend them and I can talk to the bands.
What was the best local show you’ve attended? Why?
The best show I’ve been to was with All Shall Perish and Suffocate about three years ago. Everyone was having a good time.
What is the craziest thing you’ve seen happen at a local show?
I saw a guy’s eyelid get ripped off. It happened in a big pit and his eyelid must have caught in someone’s finger.        

   

Name:  Chris Dillon
Age: 16
Location: Danville, California
How long have you attended local shows?
1 year.
What band did you come to see and why?
I came to see Sink This Ship because I wanted to mosh.
What interests you most about going to local shows?
At local shows I get to meet new people (Through moshing) and see new bands.
In your opinion, are local shows better than mainstream shows? Why or why not?
At local shows I get to interact with the band; I get to know them.          

 Name: Dahana Deluna
Age:  18
Location: Vallejo, California
How long have you attended local shows?
This is my 4th time attending a local show.
What got you into the local music scene?
I found that local bands are more intriguing than signed bands. I enjoy their energy and the fact that they are playing for fun and not the money.          

 

Travis Bartosik causing havoc before his set

   

Many apologies for cutting your head and feet off Marcus Nappo (On the right). I still dig the action shot though.

             

A friendly dose of sing-along action.

    

  

This entry was posted in Music, Art, Events, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life in the Thrash Lane

  1. Simply, one of the best article l have come across on this precious subject. I quite agree with your suppositions and will eagerly look forward to your forthcoming updates.

Leave a Reply

