Interview with the First Division and Filipino Fresh

From left to right: Clockwork (wearing black beanie), Filipino Fresh (wearing grey shirt with black coat), Bane Biz (wearing boa)

Happy New Years to you guys! How does it feel to make it through another year?

Clockwork: Happy New Years, brotha. It feels lovely makin’ it through the year. Lav lav lovely! 2010 was a good year for us, but 2011 is ‘bout to be mainy!

Bane Biz: Happy New Years, little brodee. Man, you don’t know how good it feels to be ringing in the New Year with all this momentum. Oh wait, you do… Because you’re right there with us, Ahahaha! 

Filipino Fresh: Happy New Years! It’s fun! Last year was cool, but this year’s moving faster than before. A lot of crazy stuff’s gonna be happening in 2011. Living life as a rockstar!

Any New Year’s resolutions or do you guys not believe in them?

Clockwork: I believe in ‘em. I’m not too awesome at keepin’ up with ‘em though. But this year’s ‘bout to be different, I promise you. My resolution: To become a household name by the end of 2011!

Bane Biz: Naw. I believe a new beginning can be any day. My transition to a better person has been gradual and didn’t just begin this year.

FF: I don’t believe in ‘em ‘cause I never do ‘em.

So it seemed like a pretty crazy New Year’s Eve party. What was the highlight of the night?

Clockwork: Romie Rome aka Filipino Fresh! That man was going stupid all night!

Bane Biz: Definitely the shout outs. Listening to drunk muthafuckas try to yell out “BTME, Corpse Circus for Life” was funny to me.

FF: Me waking up and not knowing anything. Then watching the video and trying to remember everything, but not being able to remember anything. I didn’t remember anything. But the video was cool.

Were there any porcelain gods being prayed to by the end of the night? 

Clockwork: No, but the man, my man, Jesus Christ did get a shout out, hahaha. He even got a shot taken for him!

Bane Biz: To tell you the truth, I never seen the bathroom so I have no idea. I know someone had their face in the trashcan.

FF: Yeah. A couple of people were throwing up that I wasn’t aware of at the time. You know it wasn’t a good time if somebody wasn’t throwing up and if there are multiple people, then it was a good ass party.


This might be the dumbest question asked for this interview, but what inspired the song coke and rum?

Clockwork: O_o Watchu talkin’ ‘bout, Fembot? Hahaha!

Bane Biz: Filipino Fresh already had the concept in mind when he shot us the song, but my inspiration for it was Captain Morgan.

FF: It’s my favorite drink. It’s my favorite thing to drink when I’m drunk, so it was only right to make a song about it. 

Since we’re on the topic of alcohol, do you guys have any favorite drinks…besides coke and rum?

Clockwork: Cranberry and Vodka and Four Loko. Naw, man. That stuffs gross, hahaha! Damn near anything with alcohol in it.

Bane Biz: Coochie juice and titty milk is pretty delish, but, alcohol wise, I’m a vodka man. Anything mixed with vodka would probably do me swell.

FF: Yeah. Let’s see, what do I like? Long Islands are good. Sparks. Sparks is fucking awesome. Patron and Hyphy juice and Captain Morgan and Coke with a splash of Rockstar (Andre made that up).

Where do you guys see yourselves by the end of 2011?

Clockwork: In your iPod, on your walls, tatted on your skin, hahaha! But I definitely see myself on the big stage.

Bane Biz: Well, I’m 27 now so by the end of 2011 I should be 28. 

FF: I’ll either see myself in boot camp or coming back from boot camp, or I’ll see myself on stage. But either way, it’s gonna be fun wherever it takes me.

Thank you guys for your time, and good luck in the new year!

The First Division Ft. Filipino Fresh – Coke and Rum 

The First Division, Filipino Fresh, Dubba R, and Reezy – Filipino Swag

 

This entry was posted in Music, Art, Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with the First Division and Filipino Fresh

  1. Jody says:

    Hi Femi 🙂 Not really a music blog, just a place where I warehouse all my clips. Good to hear from you, diggin the blog…

Leave a Reply

