There’s No Such Thing as Competition

1412022452-competition-sissies

On my way to work this morning I was thinking about the New Year. I was thinking about what skill/new habit I would like to carry over into 2017. It took me a second to think about it, but I finally thought to myself that I would love to maintain my passion for creating music and artistic expression.

In my lifetime I’ve taken on a number of hobbies ranging from break dancing, basketball, drawing, and skateboarding. There were times where I wanted to make most of these activities full time professions. I’d spend countless hours trying to perfect these hobbies. I would watch videos, read, and put in work. My passion would last for years.

But something would always change my way of thinking. My desire to be great turned into boredom. The practice transformed into monotony. I would give up when times were hard. I would ultimately think I wasn’t worthy.

It took some serious reflection for me to realize a pattern. No one has kept me from achieving my goals besides myself. I never knew about persistence, smart work, or finding a mentor. I always thought that either you had it or you didn’t.

When I really think about artistic creation I have come to realize that there is no such thing as competition. There is only one you and there will never in the world’s existence be another you. As long you stay true to yourself and put everything you have in what you do, there will a dedicated group of followers that will support you.

It is also equally important to be flexible. Sometimes your visions don’t pan out exactly how you plan them, but the end result is usually the direction you are destined for (damn that came of as new-agey *shrug*).

This entry was posted in Music, Art, Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

