The Silver Lining

shrug

 

While at work today I experienced a feeling of disgust. I could equate the feeling to getting my heart broken by a lady crush or smelling a stranger’s fart. Not cool. Not fucking cool at all. You don’t have to be an egghead to realize that the feeling pretty much blew (I apologize for any egg-headed folk I may have offended).

I know I’m not the only person out there that experiences the feeling of, how should I say this, unbelongingness (yes, I made that word up). There are a shit ton of us out there, dang it, I know it! We’re the dreamers, the go-getters, the ones with a fucking chip on our shoulders (on occasion).

Maybe I’m just being a bitter Barry, but it didn’t take me long to see the silver lining in what I do. Sure it’s not where I will be in the future, but there are many things I wouldn’t have experienced or been able to afford without it. Why hell, I even enjoy most of the folks I work with.

It’s funny how a single emotion can literally alter one’s perception of reality. The truth is, I think, the body finds instinctual ways to tell you something is wrong and you’re penalized if you don’t do anything about it. I can personally attest to my statement through the non-rewarding feeling I get after a long day of work or even my attitude when I’m out with friends. The feeling is unavoidable.

I cannot stress the importance of finding the good in all that you do, however, it is more important to optimize your service by doing what you’re intended to do. In turn, your enthusiasm to serve will not only reflect in what you do, but it will also reflect in your day-to-day interactions. Fight on, people, fight on.

 

This entry was posted in Music, Art, Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

