The Art of Detachment

Yes, I’m still working on the same damn song I said I was working on weeks ago. It’s really interesting how time flies. Life can really alter the time line of any given project. As I worked on my latest song the other day, I started thinking about how I can detach myself from my music before I release it. What I mean is, how can I listen to my music with a fresh pair of ears? Maybe there’s a scientific methodology to the whole damn thing. I don’t fucking know.

 This might sound lame as hell, but I turn my back to my music workstation when I try to be unbiased. Yeah, sounds pretty stupid right? For some reason I feel that turning my back kind of separates me from my work. It makes me feel like the music has to win me over. I also close my eyes when I listen. I try to see if the music makes me feel anything, but even that can be a challenge after I’ve listened to the same beat over a fucking 100 times!

Maybe I’m just thinking more about this because my brother, who was always my fresh pair of ears, just moved out. It sucks that I won’t have immediate feedback, but maybe it will be a challenge that I’m supposed to go through. If you’re an artist, I’d like to hear what you do to detach yourself from your work!

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

