It’s None of My Business

It took a while, but I was starting to get adjusted to the lifestyle in Lagos–the crazy driving, shitty roads, smog, heat, the food, and the music. I plan to make another visit in the near future, but I couldn’t help but feel like I wanted to do more for my families’ home country.

There are so many things I’ve seen that make me wonder why such a famous city in Nigeria hasn’t improved more. There’s so much more that could be done to make everyone’s lives better. 

Why haven’t underdeveloped countries modeled things that have worked in other countries? I know the people that live there have to care to some extent. It just doesn’t make sense to me, really. And I’ve only barely scratched the surface of what else is out there. There are so many other countries that could be so much better. 

I used to have the mentality of helping myself first before reaching out to others, but it so different being there first hand. Seeing the people with my own eyes, hearing them, and feeling them hits me on another level that I can’t quite express in words. 

And then I think about the role of my love for writing and music. What is the benefit? Am I making the right choice? How can I make a difference? I’m not sure at the moment, but I am willing to keep working until I find out.

I think I just want to see more people succeed in making this world greater. More importantly, I want to do more. I want to make massive contributions around the world. But then I start thinking about how. I just don’t know how I can at the moment. Maybe it’s not my business to know.

 

This entry was posted in Music, Art, Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

