I know it’s Early Valentine’s Day, But I Have A Song For You

 

I can finally say my latest song is fucking done! Hallelujah! Damn it took so much longer than I anticipated.

The backstory behind this song came from a feeling of disappointment. Someone I love broke my heart so I started playing music. I let my feelings guide me. My mood drove me to the final section of the overall piece, but I felt like it needed something to lead into that.

Almost immediately I came up with the chords that best fit the beginning of the song. As I put the pieces together I came to realize that the beginning didn’t flow with end in the way I thought it would. So, I started to pull up photos of inspiration (I tend to do this when a song reminds me of someone or something).

The photos I chose for this song were of two rock musicians–Anthony Green of Saosin and Thomas Erak of The Fall of Troy. With the inspiration, I came up with the middle section to transition into the third part.

From there I began putting things in, taking things out, and making the overall piece work to my standards. It took time. Lots of fucking time.

Overall, I am satisfied with what I have come up with. It may not be a hit on the charts, but it is something that I can stand by. I can move forward with no regrets.

My next question to myself is how can I make music that’s better? What can I do to gain and hold the ears of listeners? I listen to other musicians in awe with how they can accomplish that task. It seems so simple, but there is so much more that goes into it.

 

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

